Pagan Symbols

There are many pagan symbols around and of course, each of them has its peculiar meaning. All these symbols are ancient, from pagan tradition for example a pagan ritual. They have their individual peculiarities with each of them being applied to one purpose or the other. Pagan means it is not a classic religious symbol. But some consider pagan as a new religion.

In this write-up, we will consider as many of the pagan symbols and their meanings as possible.


Pagan Symbols and their Meanings

  • Valknut
  • Fire
  • Flower of life
  • Water
  • Thro’s hammer (Mjolnir)
  • Horned god
  • Ouroboros
  • Eye of Ra
  • Caduceus
  • Black Sun (Schwarze Sonne)
  • Rod of Asclepius
  • Helm of Awe
  • Mandala
  • Tree of Life
  • Pentacle
  • Earth
  • Triple Moon
  • Air
  • Eye of Horus
  • Labyrinth
  • Ankh
  • Spiral Goddess
  • Hecate’s Wheel
  • Setogram (Faery Star)
  • Triquetra
  • Triskele
  • Celtic knot
  • celtic cross
  • trinity know

We will consider as many of them as possible below


Triple moon

The trple moon symbol represents the three different phases of the moon. , which are:

  • Waxing
  • Full
  • Waning

This pagan symbol is equally called triple goddess and can be used for representing the three phases of womanhood, which are:

  • Crone
  • Mother
  • Maiden

About its meaning:

  • The first crescent symbolizes a new beginning, rejuvenation and new life.
  • The middle circle stands for full moon and magic is at its most powerful.
  • The second crescent stands for the waning period of the moon.

This is considered the best time to finish things, remove things from your life or send things away.

Eye of Horus

horus eye

It is an ancient symbol originating from Egypt. It is used for protection. Another name for this wiccan symbol is Wadjet. Many believe that this protective symbol has protection powers and has healing power meaning.

It can, therefore, ward off evil. It is usually used in decorating several items, like protective amulets. Horus is the god of the sky in ancient Egypt and it is depicted by a falcon. The left eye of Horus stands for the waning and waxing of the moon.



It is an ancient hieroglyph in ancient Egypt. The symbol stands for living or life. It is associated with immortality and eternal life. The gods in ancient Egyptian hieroglyphs were always bearing an ankh around and this confers divinity on the symbol.

Some also carry it about to show the world that they have spiritual beliefs and not beliefs in any specific religion. Another name for the ankh is the Egyptian Cross. This pagan symbol is also called crux ansata in Latin, translated to «cross with a handle» in the English language.


Hecate’s wheel

The symbol represents the three different aspects of the goddess, which are:

  • Crone
  • Mother
  • Maiden

The goddess has associated with sorcery, necromancy, herbs, magic, witchcraft, the moon, entrance, and crossroad. The wheel equally symbolizes the power of life and knowledge. It is also a popular feminist symbol.



It symbolizes the holy trinity and it even came before Christianity. It is found in Nordic and Celtic arts and inscriptions. It is also traced to Swedish runes and Germanic coins. It has been in existence as far back as the 11th century.

Also, in some modern traditions, it is used in representing the link between the soul, mind, and body. On the other hand, it is used in representing the three realms of sky, sea, and earth in Celtic-based pagan traditions. However, there is no solid scholarly evidence that the symbol is the ancient Celtic symbol for feminine spirituality.



This pagan symbol originates from the Celtic culture. It is a Celtic design and also traced to Buddhist writings. The design varies from time to time, but it always shows a shape being repeated three times with the three being interlocked.

Moreover, It is found globally and has been found on several Neolithic stones in Western Europe and Ireland. It is also found on bank notes in the Isle of Man and it is the symbol for the Isle of Sicily. In Celtic tradition, the symbol can stand for the realms of the sky, sea, and earth.



It is also called the Faery Star. It can also be called the eleven star. The symbol is used in certain faerie traditions and equally finds use in several other magical symbols and traditions.

Seven is known as a sacred number in several pagan traditions. As a result, the symbol is used in representing various sets of seven things based on the tradition or belief of the person. Some of the areas of application are:

  • The seven elements, which are within, below, above, water, fire, air, and earth.
  • Seven tenants, which are trust, tolerance, reincarnation, learning, humility, harmony and balance. 
  • The seven notes in a diatonic music scale, which are white notes.
  • Seven major Hindu chakras.
  • The seven days of the week.
  • Seven Pleiades (stars).

The number three is also related to heaven and higher realms and the number 4 is related to the earth. 3 plus 4 gives 7, which means the heaven and the earth comes together as one.


Spiral goddess

The symbol is usually used by Wiccans and it represents life. It also represents the ever continuing cycle of rebirth, life, and death. Its spiraling line is seen as the constant path of life and it goes back in history as far as the Paleolithic times; they carved it on tombs then. It is equally traced to many nature objects, like seashells and galaxies.



It is not possible to get trapped or lost in a labyrinth, unlike a maze. In spite of the several twists and turns that may come, there is always only one way out.

A similar pattern is noticed in life; irrespective of what he individual is, where they live or the family in which they are born, they will always come in and leave the world through one route. As a result, a labyrinth can be used as a symbol of life and death.



Most pagan traditions use the element of air. It is seen as the element of the East and connected to the breath of life and the soul.

The element is equally among the four classical elements invoked during pagan spiritual workings and rituals. The element is associated with several colors like white and yellow. It is equally associated with the mind, wisdom, and communication. At other times, it can represent incense, a fan or a feather.