Seven Wonders of the World list

Over the years there has been a listing of some ancient sites with amazing features which has drawn attention of all and sundry. These historical sites are commonly referred to as “the seven wonders of the world”.

They are a beautiful collection of unique constructions which are  documented by the Greeks and situated in the Eastern Mediterranean. It is the very first known documentation of unusual creations of traditional monuments.


  1. Great Pyramid of Giza

Also referred to as the Khufu Pyramid, the Great Pyramid of Giza has been in existence for a long time. Located in El Giza of Egypt, this pyramid is the only standing ancient monument today. It was constructed in 2561 BC and was once the tallest structure on earth. Giza pyramid has three chambers and was used as tombs for Egyptian Kings and Queens.


  1. Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

Artemis Temple has been acknowledged by Greeks to be the most aesthetically-pleasing of all the Seven Wonders of the World. This temple was built over and over again, as it was brought down by flood in the first instance and by saboteurs in the second instance. The location of the Artemis temple at Ephesus was sighted again in 1869 and it’s remnants is safe-kept in a museum in Great Britain.


  1. Hanging Gardens of Babylon

The Hanging Gardens of Babylon is the only ancient antiquity whose precise location is yet to be ascertained. Some people think the Hanging Gardens is only a myth, some others believe that these gardens were constructed by the renown King Nebuchadnezzar II. There are speculations that the site was made of rising series of gardens in successive layers which looked like a big green hill sprouting from the middle of old Babylonian empire. Should it be that this gardens existed at all, they never saw the second century AD.


  1. Lighthouse of Alexandria

The Lighthouse of Alexandria happens to be a lighthouse constructed by the Ptolemaic rulership. It more than 100 meters tall. It was once one of the tallest structures among the Seven Wonders of the World. Lighthouse of Alexandria was brought down by serious earthquakes on three different occasions and it was later deserted to be a decrepit ruin.


  1. The Statue of Zeus

Situated in Olympia, the huge Statue of Zeus is a sculpture of the Greek god Zeus, constructed by Phidias, a Greek artist right in the worship sanctuary of Olympia. The statue of Zeus was made of a wooden armature fleshed with ivory materials and gold bars while the throne was adorned with the triad of gold bars, valuable stones, ivory boards and ebony wood.

  1. The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus

Also known as the Tomb of Mausolus  the Mausoleum was a sepulcher constructed in 350BC at the present-day Turkey specially for Masolous a ruler in the ancient Persia as well as his relative Artemisia. The mausoleum was drawn by Greek architects and it spans 45 meters up above the ground. All the sides of the tomb was decorated with sculptural artworks.


  1. Colossus of Rhodes

The seventh wonder of the ancient world is the sculpture of Helios, who was a Greek god, Colossus of Rhodes was constructed in 280 BC to commemorate the success over the tyrannical rulership of Cyprus and stood for more than half a decade. The Colossus was a 30 meters statue made of copper, tin and iron with and staged on a podium made of marble.