what is the holy book of judaism

what is the name of holy book of judaism

The Holy Book of Judaism is the Torah. Another name is the five books of Moses or The Pentateuch.


The word Torah, “teaching or instruction”, derives from the Hebrew root ירה (iara). It literally means “to shoot (an arrow)” and therefore etymologically refers to that which “hits the mark”.

Jewish tradition uses, from the very end of the Bible itself, the word “Torah” to refer to the first section of the Bible: the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy.

what is the holly book of judaism called

These same books are called “The Books of Moses” or “Pentateuch”. It is a word derived (through Latin) from the Greek penta (five) teuchoi (books). Already since the 1st century of the Common Era (ie, after Jesus), these five books were written on a single roll of paper signaling that they are a unit.

Unlike what happens with other canonical divisions in which there are differences and even controversies, both Jews and Christians unanimously accept the books of Genesis to Deuteronomy in this order and as a unit.

The unanimity of the tradition and the initial place occupied by these five books reflect their importance in religious life. In Judaism, the Torah possesses the highest level of holiness, above all other books.


See also these judaism related articles: