Dharani in Hindu and Buddhist Mythology

Dharani (also dharini) existed in hindu mythology and in buddha mythology. In Hinduism as mentioned in epic and Puranic texts, are goddesses, consorts of Parasurama, and avatars of goddess Laksmi. In Buddhism, dharani is the collective name for a group of deities; twelve personifications of a particular type of mystic religious text used as a charmA.G.H.


Dharani in Hindu Mythology

Dharani, also spelled as dharini, is a term that holds significance in both Hindu and Buddhist mythologies. In Hinduism, Dharani refers to goddesses, consorts of Parasurama, and avatars of the goddess Lakshmi. In this section, we will explore the role and significance of Dharani in Hindu mythology.

Goddesses and Consorts

In Hindu mythology, Dharani is associated with goddesses who serve as consorts to the revered sage Parasurama. These goddesses are often depicted as embodiments of divine feminine energy and are considered to be manifestations of the goddess Lakshmi, the deity of wealth, fortune, and abundance.

Avatars of Goddess Lakshmi

Dharani is also recognized as avatars or incarnations of goddess Lakshmi. In Hinduism, Lakshmi is venerated as the goddess of prosperity and well-being. The presence of Dharani as avatars of Lakshmi emphasizes their role in bestowing blessings related to wealth and abundance upon devotees.


Dharani in Buddhist Mythology

In Buddhist mythology, Dharani takes on a different meaning and context. It refers to a collective group of deities, specifically twelve personifications, associated with a particular type of mystic religious text used as a charm or incantation. Let’s delve into the role and significance of Dharani in the context of Buddhism.

Mystic Religious Texts

In Buddhism, Dharani is closely connected to a category of mystic religious texts known for their mystical and protective qualities. These texts often consist of sacred incantations, mantras, or charms that are recited or written down by Buddhist practitioners. The purpose of these texts is to invoke blessings, protection, and spiritual guidance.

Twelve Personifications

Dharani represents twelve distinct personifications or deities, each associated with a particular aspect of Buddhist practice or spiritual endeavor. These personifications are often revered and invoked by Buddhists to aid in their spiritual journey and protect them from various obstacles and negative influences.

Charm and Protective Function

The Dharani texts, which incorporate the names and attributes of these twelve deities, are considered powerful charms and protective amulets in Buddhist tradition. Buddhists believe that reciting or carrying these texts can bring spiritual bene


Jordan, Michael, Encyclopedia of Gods, New York, Facts On File, Inc. 1993, p. 64